Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Using lumped boundary condition for twisted cables

Andreas Erhardsberger

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi COMSOL-user,

I'm new to COMSOL. In the Tutorials I cannot find any example for the usage of the Lumped Port boundary condition as I need to (I might have missed some), so I decided to pulish my question here. I'm trying to simulate a twisted cable with two conductors (surrounded by insulators) like in the screenshot below. I want to add an alternating current with high frequency and I want to calculate the impedance of the cable and the radiation it emmits. I would prefer the transient solver if possible. Thanks for your answers in advance.

13 Replies Last Post 05.03.2019, 08:50 GMT-5
Edgar J. Kaiser Certified Consultant

Posted: 5 years ago 30.01.2019, 09:47 GMT-5

Andreas,

the application library example RF Module > Passive Devices > rf_coil should be a good start point for you.

Cheers Edgar

-------------------
Edgar J. Kaiser
emPhys Physical Technology
www.emphys.com
Andreas, the application library example RF Module > Passive Devices > rf_coil should be a good start point for you. Cheers Edgar

Magnus Ringh COMSOL Employee

Posted: 5 years ago 30.01.2019, 10:20 GMT-5

Hi,

There are several example models in the COMSOL Application Libraries that make use of the Lumped Port boundary condition. If you add a Lumped Port node, you can see that its general tag is lport. If you type

@lport