Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Laminar flow through a cube with a hole at bottom

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear Comsol users,

I am relatively new to comsol, but have been working for quite sometime.

I was just wondering why is it so difficult (not converging even after 100 iterations) to solve a laminar fluid flow in box having a hole (outlet) at the bottom.

Problem description: The 3D box having no slip at all the walls except the inlet wall (face). The exit boundary is "no viscous stress" where the aperture diameter is 60% of the box edge, opposite to the inlet face. The inlet velocity is given at 0.1 m/s. The mesh is physics controlled "normal".

I have attached the comsol for details, if anyone is interested.

Is is something very simple that I am missing.
My final goal is to apply the periodic boundary conditions to the opposite faces in the direction transverse to the primary flow.

Regards,
Sourav

3 Replies Last Post 27.11.2015, 09:43 GMT-5

Posted: 9 years ago 26.11.2015, 17:25 GMT-5
Can't open your file as I have not installed 5.2 but your mesh may be insufficient, depending on the size of the box.
Can't open your file as I have not installed 5.2 but your mesh may be insufficient, depending on the size of the box.

Posted: 9 years ago 27.11.2015, 06:29 GMT-5
Dear Dr. Ooi,

Unfortunately there is no option to save the model file in lower compatible version. Just a bit of information about the mesh, if it helps:

============================================================
Number of vertex elements: 13
Number of edge elements: 736
Number of boundary elements: 30076
Number of elements: 486882
Free meshing time: 10.49s
Minimum element quality: 0.154
============================================================

The box size is 1mx1mx0.5m

Regards,
Sourav