Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Need some suggestions on artificial ground freezing

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello all,
I am interesting about the modeling of artificial ground freezing by COMSOL. In the application of AGF, steel tube was buried under ground vertically, the coolant(brine) circled in the tube, then the heat of original soil was brought by the coolant, the temperature of soil around the tube was decreased, when the temperature lower than -2?( or even more) ,the soil become frozen.
I am a beginner of COMSOL, so I have some doubts about the modeling.
1) When the brine coolant circle in the tube, the temperature of brine is about -28?, and the temperature of steel tube which contain the brine is about -27? or -26?, it was to say that the temperature of brine and tube is known. how to consider the temperature? Set the temperature as a boundary condition of fixed temperature? or consider the coolant as a heat sink? Modeling the coolant by fluid flow? But the diameter of steel tube is very small than the whole model.
2) the physics of this application should include the conduction and convection of heat and moisture in soil, and the phase change when temperature is enough low. so latent heat should be considered also. I want to add the conduction and convection of heat and fluid flow all in Earth Science Model. Which model suitable for modeling the driving force of cryogenic suction(moisture move from high temperature to low temperature)?
Any suggestion will be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Best regards!
Joe Seung

2 Replies Last Post 11.09.2010, 20:56 GMT-4
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 11.09.2010, 07:33 GMT-4
Hi