Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

change the numerical values for the physical quantities

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello COMSOL community :)

I am new to COMSOL multiphysics program , i am trying to build a simulation of a cantilever in the mm length scale. I am using Magnetic fields (mf) , Electric currents (ec) and Multiphysics modules.
I found this in the User's guide book
"It is important to be careful using physical constants if the unit system is not in SI units.
For example, the default values for the permittivity of vacuum and the permeability of
vacuum require that you provide all other quantities in SI units and that you use meter
(m) for the geometry length. If you draw the geometry using another length scale, you
need to change the numerical values for the physical quantities accordingly. "

Can anyone tell me how to change the numerical values for the physical quantities according to mm length scale ?

Thanks in advance,
have a nice day,
Amal

7 Replies Last Post 23.04.2015, 14:39 GMT-4
Vivien Van Kerckhoven

Posted: 9 years ago 21.04.2015, 06:33 GMT-4
Hi,

I advise you rather to let the value of the physical constants, but changing your lengths units.
When specifying length, you can give units : 5 [mm] or 7.5 [µm]
Then, Comsol will do himself the conversion into the SI system.
But, much better, is to used directly SI units : 5e-3 [m] or 7.5e-6 [m].
Look at this also : evgeni.org/oldfish/Top_nine_hints_for_working_with_Comsol#Hint_8._Stay_with_default_units.2C_customise_the_spatial_coordinates