Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Prescribed displacement and pressure

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi
I'm a student and one of COMSOL user.
I have problem to apllied pressure (1500Pa) at my structure after prescribed displacement (0.1um).
Because the plane by applying the prescribed displacement is not moved when the pressure is applied.
In other word, the prescribed displacement plane is fixed.
Do you have any other idea not to fix the plane?

I am hopfully want to get an idea.

thanks~

4 Replies Last Post 27.04.2016, 14:50 GMT-4
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 10 years ago 21.10.2014, 03:01 GMT-4
Hi

forcing a prescribed displacement to a surface corresponds to applying forces on it to get the desired displacement. So if you add some pressure, the forces COMSOL applies will change to get the SAME displacement. This is normal behaviour, but it should also tell you why it happens, and suggest that you change your BC's accordingly.

What is giving this prescribed displacement finally, and why apply it before you add the pressure, and how can both be applied together ?

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi forcing a prescribed displacement to a surface corresponds to applying forces on it to get the desired displacement. So if you add some pressure, the forces COMSOL applies will change to get the SAME displacement. This is normal behaviour, but it should also tell you why it happens, and suggest that you change your BC's accordingly. What is giving this prescribed displacement finally, and why apply it before you add the pressure, and how can both be applied together ? -- Good luck Ivar

Nagi Elabbasi Facebook Reality Labs

Posted: 10 years ago 23.10.2014, 09:44 GMT-4