Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

heat transfer in porous media and conjugate heat transfer

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello everyone,
I'm new to Comsol and I'm trying to couple the heat transfer in porous media with the conjugate heat transfer (solid + water in laminar flow). But i have a lots of problems.
I would model the heat transfer and the laminar flow in a pipe full of water which is buried in soil.
Can I combine the heat transfer in porous media with the conjugate heat transfer physics?
Thanks
Sara

10 Replies Last Post 09.07.2015, 22:55 GMT-4

Posted: 1 decade ago 03.12.2013, 03:31 GMT-5
Hi Sara,

if I understand well you are using 2 different physics.
If you want to combine the heat transfer in both of them first of all you need to use the same variable T.
By default COMSOL usually set T as the temperature variable for the first physic and T2 for the second.

Let me know if it works.
Hi Sara, if I understand well you are using 2 different physics. If you want to combine the heat transfer in both of them first of all you need to use the same variable T. By default COMSOL usually set T as the temperature variable for the first physic and T2 for the second. Let me know if it works.

Posted: 1 decade ago 03.12.2013, 06:26 GMT-5
Hi Marino,
I set T as dependent variable for both physics.
Please find attached my model.
The domain 3 is water, it's characterized by laminar flow and heat transfer, the domains 2 and 4 are the pipe (solid-steel) and now the domains 1 and 5 are a rock (solid granite). I would like to turn them (domains 1-5) in a porous media (soil).