Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

On microstrip impedance computation

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi everybody,
I'm a very beginner COMSOL user, I started just some few days ago with the 4.3a version and I need to build some microwave sensor models.
I started trying to realize some very simple simulations and one of these is computing a microstrip line impedance.
I built the geometry of a section of line and enclosed it into a PEC box, so I added materials and 2 lumped ports to the two edges of the line and now my question is: how do I compute the characteristic impedance of the line?
I think the best way would be by substituting one of the port with a PML and so obtaining the characteristic impedance of the line as the remaining port impedance but I didn't succeed... any suggestions?
Thank you in advance!

2 Replies Last Post 24.05.2013, 10:41 GMT-4
Edgar J. Kaiser Certified Consultant

Posted: 1 decade ago 24.05.2013, 09:47 GMT-4

Filippo,

you could do a parameter study of port impedance and look where S11 is minimum and/or S21 is maximum.

Cheers
Edgar

--
Edgar J. Kaiser
www.emphys.com
Filippo, you could do a parameter study of port impedance and look where S11 is minimum and/or S21 is maximum. Cheers Edgar -- Edgar J. Kaiser http://www.emphys.com

Posted: 1 decade ago 24.05.2013, 10:41 GMT-4