Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Assigning a sinusoidal electric potential to a boundary

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I am relatively new to COMSOL and I am building a transformer model for use in researching different hysteresis losses and associated heat energy with using different core materials. I have built a geometric model of the device. I am trying to assign an electric potential to one end of the primary winding on the transformer (the other end will be ground). I can give it a DC potential, but I want to assign a sinusoidal waveform to the voltage across the primary winding. How can I do this?

I included the Electric Currents physics engine and I defined a waveform for the primary coil voltage, but that is all the further I have gotten. I feel like if I could just define the "Equation" setting in the Electric Potential phenomenon under the "Electric Currents" physics, it would allow me to specify a sine wave potential.

I would really appreciate any input.

5 Replies Last Post 13.05.2013, 11:41 GMT-4

Posted: 1 decade ago 13.05.2013, 10:18 GMT-4
I can help you if you are working in the time domain?

R
I can help you if you are working in the time domain? R

Posted: 1 decade ago 13.05.2013, 10:46 GMT-4
Yes, I am working in the time domain.
Yes, I am working in the time domain.

Posted: 1 decade ago 13.05.2013, 11:06 GMT-4
This example I created should tell you how to do it.

The model is acoustic so you may not be able to use it.

But I choose a point or boundary and in the 'Pressure' I type...

5*sin(2*pi*f0_air*t)*(t<=2*t_pulse)

5 is the magnitude

fo_air is the frequency of the oscilation (Hz)

t is the Comsol variable for time

and