Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Porous Monolith in a pipe

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear All,

i'm studying heat transfer in a pipe where there is a SiC monolith surrounded by an insulating mat (see screenshot).

Up to now I have studied the system considering the monolith as pure solid using for my model only the Conjugate Heat Transfer physics.

Do I have to change physics to consider the monolith as porous?
If yes how have I to set the domain in the new physics?

Thank you in advance for your reply!
Have a nice day.

2 Replies Last Post 08.05.2013, 07:07 GMT-4
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 08.05.2013, 01:28 GMT-4
Hi

"My way", last year when I was studying a heat exchanger (cylinder with many >3000 pipe holes) was to estimate a "standard, small pipe based on hole ratio, total surface ratio, and surface/ volume ratios such that I made a simple 1 pipe 2D-axi model with just enough material to say it was 1/(n*1000) holes of my system.
I then studies the conjugated heat flow carefully in this simple pipe/tube 2D-axi model, it takes only a few minutes to solve so you can train well and add any type of particular in/out flow pattern and time to stabilise.

I then made a bulk model of the hole in 3D, added n*100 times my 2D-axi model as lumped parameters and solved the complex 3D system without going into the details of the n*1000 individual tubes

now if your tube bulk part is rather porous (randomly) and not anisotropic as a sieve you could consider the porous flow case, but that's a combination I haven't tried so far

--
Good luck
Ivar