Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

predescribed displacement equals displacement value at certain point

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

hi guys,

I'm pretty new to Comsol and i'm trying to implement a certain kind of boundary condition. Perhaps there is an easy solution to this, but i can't figure it out. My Problem is that i want to use a constraint like u(1,1,1)-u = 0 for an edge setting. In words, the displacement on an edge is supposed to be the same as the displacement at a certain point.
No matter how i try this I get an error.

I really appreciate your help.

kind regards

Jan Kaul

5 Replies Last Post 24.02.2014, 07:02 GMT-5

Posted: 1 decade ago 29.10.2012, 12:07 GMT-4
Hello, Jan,

There are several ways of doing what you want. Perhaps the simplest one is to define a "Domain Point Probe" in "Model/Definitions", and give there the coordinates of your point (1, 1, 1); in the "Point Probe Expression" set the variable or expression you want to measure (in your case simply u). Finally, in the boundary where you want to se t the (Dirichlet) boundary condition set the value to that of the Point Probe (something like "ppb1", see your Probe variable name).

That's all.

Jesus.
Hello, Jan, There are several ways of doing what you want. Perhaps the simplest one is to define a "Domain Point Probe" in "Model/Definitions", and give there the coordinates of your point (1, 1, 1); in the "Point Probe Expression" set the variable or expression you want to measure (in your case simply u). Finally, in the boundary where you want to se t the (Dirichlet) boundary condition set the value to that of the Point Probe (something like "ppb1", see your Probe variable name). That's all. Jesus.

Posted: 1 decade ago 13.11.2012, 07:06 GMT-5
Thank you very much, that helped a lot!

kind regards

Jan