Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Creating high density 2D mesh in 3D model

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

Firstly, sorry if this is a stupid question, I'm very new to Comsol and don't know if what I want to do is even possible.

At the moment I'm just trying to model basic permanent magnets then get contour (or streamline) plots of the magnetic field going from one pole to the other. While I can happily do this in 2D and get a good looking plot using the magnetic vector potential normal to the plane I'm viewing (attached image "2D plot"). The problem I get is when I build effectively the same configuration in 3D (a cuboid magnet), then take a 2D slice through the centre of the magnet and plot the same magnetic vector potential (attached image "3D plot").

I'm assuming my problem is that the mesh density on that plane taken from the 3D model is much less than it is for the 2D plot. Therefore, I was wondering if anyone could tell me how I would go about re-solving just on this plane at a higher mesh density. Alternatively, please tell me if there's a different issue that's causing this.

Ultimately, I'd like to be able to model more complex magnet geometries, then take slices through them and look at what the magnetic field lines are doing.

Many thanks
Stephen

2 Replies Last Post 10.08.2012, 06:37 GMT-4
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 09.08.2012, 09:22 GMT-4
Hi

you must really have a coarse mesh, as it looks indeed awful, but are you sure you haven t missed something like a scaling factor in the geometry or the field boundary values (it looks very weak) or the resolution of your 3D solver, it might not be "only" the mesh ?