Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Defining a permittivity and permeability tensor in the RF module

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi Guys,
I'm relatively new to Comsol, I'd like to model an anisotropic material in comsol, however my material should have a permeability and permittivity that are tensors as opposed to scalars, and I am unsure how to proceed.
Under Materials, Comsol allows you to input the chosen permittivity and permeability, but as constants:( Please any help or insight would be much appreciated.
-Thanks,
Kene

6 Replies Last Post 01.12.2015, 15:33 GMT-5
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 20.06.2012, 16:53 GMT-4
Hi

have you set your physics node to anisotropic materials ?
Then COSMOL will choose tensor values, or request that you define them in the material node

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi have you set your physics node to anisotropic materials ? Then COSMOL will choose tensor values, or request that you define them in the material node -- Good luck Ivar

Posted: 1 decade ago 20.06.2012, 19:28 GMT-4
Thanks Ivar, I appreciate your help!
Thanks Ivar, I appreciate your help!

Posted: 9 years ago 30.11.2015, 01:20 GMT-5
Hi,

I also want to simulate anisotropic media. Can anyone please elaborate the node thing? How can I do this in Comsol. I have tried but fail. I need discussion on this.
Hi, I also want to simulate anisotropic media. Can anyone please elaborate the node thing? How can I do this in Comsol. I have tried but fail. I need discussion on this.

Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 9 years ago 30.11.2015, 02:07 GMT-5
Hi