Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Computing transmittance and reflectance of glass for different wavelengths

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello everyone, I'm a beginner user of COMSOL, and I'm stuck on a little problem. I'm using the "Electromagnetic Waves, Frequency Domain" interface to model an incident wave on a smooth surface, in order to calculate the transmittance and the reflectance of an N-BK7 glass. I followed the instructions of the "Plasmonic Wire Grating" tutorial, but my purpose is to compute the aforementioned quantities for different wavelengths. For this reason, I don't want the refractive index of my material to be constant: it must vary with the wavelength. Therefore, I created an analytic expression for the real part of the refractive index (which I named "n_NBK7"), as well as an interpolation function for the imaginary one (which I named "k_NBK7"). As concerns the air above my sample, I did the same thing with the real component (naming the function "n_air"), while I set the extinction coefficient to 0. I took all these relations from this link. My questions are the following: 1) In the study settings, I can make the wavelength sweep within the range of interest: how can I tell the software that the wavelength must be the input variable for my interpolation/analytic functions (i.e.: n_NBK7, k_NBK7 and n_air)? 2) In the Port boundary conditions, the ewfd interface needs to know the refractive index of the air (Port 1) and of the N-BK7 glass (Port 2), in order to compute the diffraction orders. Provided that I don't have a constant value for them (they depend on the wavelength), I want to call here the functions n_air and n_NBK7, respectively: is this feasible? Which is the correct syntax to do it? 3) If I understood correctly, the software computes the number of diffraction orders as a