Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

read initial conditions for laminar flow problem from external file.

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

First of all, I like to apologize if this is a fundamental question but I cannot find an answer to it and I am new to Comsol.

I am running a 2D laminar flow problem and have to integrate over very long times.
I know that I can add solvers to use the solution of another solver as initial condition to continue the simulation.
My problem is that the data files are getting insanely huge and the processing time is over all measures (50GB!)

With my old FEM program, I just saved the last time step of an simulation in an external file (=100kB or so) and started the new simulation with this file as initial condition. So I had multiple files of acceptable size with reasonable processing time.
My question: How can I save the last time step in an external data file and use it as initial condition for another simulation with the same physics and same mesh.
Thanks for the help,

Dominik

4 Replies Last Post 17.06.2016, 09:19 GMT-4
Jeff Hiller COMSOL Employee

Posted: 8 years ago 16.06.2016, 17:19 GMT-4
A 50GB file strongly suggests you are asking the software to store data at intermediary time steps that you will never need. Time steps have been discussed in the Discussion Forum before; you may also want to review the section of the Reference Manual for COMSOL Multiphysics version 5.2 dealing with the time-dependent solver, page 990 and following.
You do not need to save your results in one file only to re-import them into another file. Setting the results of one study as the start condition for another is another topic that has been discussed before in the Discussion Forum; or you can read up on "Initial Values of Variables Solved For" in the documentation.
Best,
Jeff