Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

biharmonic PDE

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I am trying to solve the 4th order biharmonic PDE with COMSOL. I'm new to COMSOL and I have been able to draw the necessary 2D geometry for the set up. However, I am having trouble inputting setting up the necessary equations.

I've been following this tutorial: www.cct.lsu.edu/~neilan/Neila...es/Argyris.pdf

However, when I try the step on slide 9 of the tutorial to input the equation, the field just resets to the old value. I've been opening up other templates as well (such as the general coefficient in PDE modes) which are suppose to be for custom equations. However, it seems that these custom eqns are limited to second order PDEs, and I need to solve a 4th order PDE.

Any help on this would be much appreciated!

3 Replies Last Post 28.12.2010, 01:12 GMT-5

Posted: 1 decade ago 24.11.2010, 18:06 GMT-5
HI
First your link is not working
second it is easy to resolve a 4 order equation within comsol use a system of two second order equation [ this is a classical trick in ODE resolution ]
so for solving say uxxxx=f you write uxx=v and vxx=f and comsol can solve this for (u,v) [ with the bc that make it a well posed problem of course.].

good luck

jf
HI First your link is not working second it is easy to resolve a 4 order equation within comsol use a system of two second order equation [ this is a classical trick in ODE resolution ] so for solving say uxxxx=f you write uxx=v and vxx=f and comsol can solve this for (u,v) [ with the bc that make it a well posed problem of course.]. good luck jf

Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 25.11.2010, 01:19 GMT-5
Hi Jean François

Well back Iassume ;)