Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Iterative solver for Forchheimer flow

Willem Johannes Dirkx

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear all,

I am relatively new to COMSOL so please bear with me. I have made a simple axysmmetric model with an inlet on the left hand side and an outlet on the right. The flow between the two has to be resolved with the Forchheimer equation, meaning that the hydraulic conductivity of the porous medium is decided by the flow velocity as such: K = 1/(a+b*q).
Of course hydraulic conductivity is needed to calculate flow velocity so thus a circular variable dependency is born. The formula for hydraulic conductivity I entered in my storage model (my model is time dependent) as 1/(a+b*dl.U), where a and b are empirically established values. Of course the bar where I entered the formula instantly turned yellow.
So under the solver options I added an iterative solver. I hoped that that would get rid of the circular dependency error but it seemingly does not. I have not modified any of the solver values after I added it. What am I doing wrong here, the iterative solver should get me rid of the circularity error right?

3 Replies Last Post 27.01.2016, 07:30 GMT-5
Henrik Sönnerlind COMSOL Employee

Posted: 9 years ago 15.01.2016, 13:15 GMT-5
Hi,

Selecting an iterative solver only defines how you solve the system of linear equations which forms the innermost loop of the Newton method. The choice of direct versus iterative solver should be based on speed vs. memory considerations, numerical conditioning of the matrix etc.

When a problem is nonlinear, the software automatically switches to a nonlinear algorithm (usually a Newton-Raphson method).

A circular dependency error message is something else. A model with a circular dependency is in some way ill formulated. Please see