Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Advanced photonic bandgap (triangular lattice)

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I'm trying to expand the photonic bandgap model (www.comsol.com/model/bandgap-analysis-of-a-photonic-crystal-798) to a slightly different structure, but since I'm new to photonic crystals, I'm struggling with this.

In the model, a square lattice is simulated, with lattice constants a1, a2 = a. The primitive cell is a square with the circular column in the centre. I want to simulate a triangular lattice. The cell changes into a parallelogram, and . Now, if I just want to sweep from k=0 to (M point in the Brillouin Zone), it works fine out of the box. I don't know how to proceed from here, in order to calculate the whole bandgap (Gamma -> M -> K -> Gamma). I thought I'd simply redo the initial eigenfrequency step for M point, and then move on to the k sweep. K values are defined as follows:

kk1*(k1*b1x+k2*b2x)
kk2*(k1*b1y+k2*b2y)

Where b1, b2 are reciprocal lattice vectors and kk1/k1/k2 are my parameters. For the initial eigenfrequency sweep at Gamma I set:
kk1=kk2=k1=k2=0
For the subsequent sweep kk2=1 and I'm sweeping k1=0...1.

Now, to get from M to K , I set kk2=k1=1 for the initial eigenfrequency study, and I'm getting eigenfrequencies corresponding to those obtained from the first sweep (at the end of the sweep, kk2=1). However, if I now want to sweep from kk1=0...1/3, I get the following error:

Failed to find a solution for the initial parameter.
Maximum number of Newton iterations reached.
There was an error message from the linear solver.
The relative error (1.7e+003) is greater than the relative tolerance.
Returned solution is not converged.

Where might this be coming from? There must be a difference between starting at k=0 and k!=0 that I'm missing.