Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

AC/DC , Single / Multi-turn / Group coil domains !

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear COMSOLer's !

I am relatively new to COMSOL and i am still trying to get things understood right , i still have a lot of questions and i will be really grateful if someone could help !

what is the difference between single , multi, or coil group domain ?
why i cant do each coil as a single turn ?! how COMSOL treat coil physics ?
and what if i need to charge the coil from an external circuit ? which turn is the input and which is output ?

i will be really grateful if any could help

3 Replies Last Post 26.06.2014, 01:58 GMT-4

Posted: 1 decade ago 19.01.2014, 07:12 GMT-5
www.comsol.com/models/acdc-module
some models will be helpful.
http://www.comsol.com/models/acdc-module some models will be helpful.

Posted: 1 decade ago 25.06.2014, 08:06 GMT-4
that was really helpful
thank you so much for your reply.

i still have some issues with coils ! i am trying to simulate a 10 turns spiral coil in 2D ( not Axisymmetric )
i built 10 separated rectangles to represents the coil turns. Now , five of them should have reversed current direction which i managed to do using the Single- Turn Coil options. However, i still didn't get how the " Coil group " check box functions ? and after checking the box i have this option of " Domain Group " ! . the Help information was really shallow and i couldn't get the deference !
So ; it will be really great if you can explain more about these features in COMSOL 4.4

Coil group ?
Domain Group ?
and is there any deference in such cases between 2D and 2D Axisymmetric ?
what i should use for my case ?