Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

How to get the average normal vector of a surface

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi, I am new to COMSOL. I want to compute the volume velocity on a surface. I know I can use integration under the derived values to compute the the veloctiy over a surace. However, that is based on global coordinate system. In order to project the velocity from global coordinate system to the local coordinate system, I need the get the normal vector on the surface. How can I do it? I found some thread decade ago discussing the related topic. But not much detail was given. Any help will be appreciated.

5 Replies Last Post 31.01.2022, 16:41 GMT-5
Jeff Hiller COMSOL Employee

Posted: 2 years ago 31.01.2022, 13:58 GMT-5

Hello Junfeng,

This old thread may be helpful to you.

Best regards,

Jeff

-------------------
Jeff Hiller
Hello Junfeng, [This old thread](https://www.comsol.com/forum/thread/146372/which-variable-s-denote-fluid-shear-on-a-surface-in-3d?last=2017-06-21T18:44:34Z) may be helpful to you. Best regards, Jeff

Posted: 2 years ago 31.01.2022, 15:25 GMT-5

Jeff

Thank you so much! I have just used COMSOL for less than 2 month. My another question is, is there any way to find the list of build-in variables? For example the normal vector nx, ny, and nz in your previous thread. How am I supposed to know these names unless I read through the thousand-page manual?

Jeff Thank you so much! I have just used COMSOL for less than 2 month. My another question is, is there any way to find the list of build-in variables? For example the normal vector nx, ny, and nz in your previous thread. How am I supposed to know these names unless I read through the thousand-page manual?

Posted: 2 years ago 31.01.2022, 16:11 GMT-5
Updated: 2 years ago 31.01.2022, 16:13 GMT-5

Hello Junfeng,