Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Hagen–Poiseuille flow

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I would like to use Comsol for a microfluidics project I'm working on. As this is my first time working with Comsol I am trying to simulate a simple problem to compare the simulation with analytical results.
The Hagen-Poiseuille flow problem is a solution to a simple fluidic problem, the flow of a liquid through a circular tube. More infor here: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hagen%E2%80%93Poiseuille_equation

I've set up the simulation as follows:
The geometry is 2D axisymmetric (radius is 15, length is 800)
The material is water
The physics is laminar flow (spf)
I use incompressible flow as my physical model
And define the inlet and outlet
The inlet pressure is 100 Pa, the outlet pressure is 0 Pa
The mesh is 'physics controlled' and normal

I run the simulation and to obtain the flow rate I apply a surface integration spf.U with Dataset 'solution 1'.
The result for this particular simulation is: flow rate = 5.593e-11 M3/s

The problem is that the analytical result is different. I've put it in Matlab to make sure it isn't me. The result is a factor of 22 too high.

r = 15e-6; % radius
dP = 100; % Pressure
Nu = 0.001; % viscosity
L = 800e-6; % Length
Fr = (pi*r^4*dP)/(8*Nu*L) % Hagen-Poseiulle equation for flow rate

Fr = 2.4850e-012 M3/s