Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Help with meshing thin geometry

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi I am new to COMSOL and have trouble meshing the attached file. It consists of a very thin layer between 2 thicker ones and thin spacing between the bars. Does anyone have any suggestions/link to tutorials that might help?

Thanks

6 Replies Last Post 28.12.2013, 18:46 GMT-5

Posted: 1 decade ago 09.08.2011, 03:29 GMT-4
Hi,

I suggest you build 2 free triangular, ther first for the thin layer and the second for the others. For the thin layer, you might want to add two distribution node and specify a pretty high number of elements, to be sure to have a mesh thin enough. the two others will adapt at the neighborhood of the thin one to the distribution nodes, and you can after specify a size for each free triangular to tweak it as you prefer...

Good luck
Hi, I suggest you build 2 free triangular, ther first for the thin layer and the second for the others. For the thin layer, you might want to add two distribution node and specify a pretty high number of elements, to be sure to have a mesh thin enough. the two others will adapt at the neighborhood of the thin one to the distribution nodes, and you can after specify a size for each free triangular to tweak it as you prefer... Good luck

Posted: 1 decade ago 10.08.2011, 15:53 GMT-4
im trying to mesh part of the thin layer using free triangular and a distribution set to 10 ( i labeled it side1, one of the copper electrodes) but it is taking quite a long time, even with my i7 sandy bridge cpu. Im not sure if im doing what you described. Do you mind meshing a section of it for me as an example? my email is chowryan@gmail.com

Thanks,