Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Defination about two parameters, gop.I and gop.normE, in the Ray Optics Module

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi everyone, I'm new to COMSOL Multiphysics and I am interested in the Ray Optics Module.

Recently, when I was conducting a simple model about the light refraction with p-polarization on an interface between two isotropic dielectric media, the defination of two exported parameters gop.I and gop.normE puzzles me.

It seems that, gop.I is calculated by Tp=n2/n1·cos(θ2)/cos(θ1)·tp^2. That is, I2=Tp·I1. However, gop.normE is not obtained according to the relationship between the electric field amplitude in the refracted light and incident light, tp=2n1cos(θ1)/[n2cos(θ1)+n1cos(θ2)].

It seem that gop.normE is actually calculated by E2=sqrt(cos(θ2)/cos(θ1))·tp·E1, rather than E2=tp·E1. Why did this happen? Is my knowledge wrong? Or the defination of gop.normE is not the electric field amplitude ??

3 Replies Last Post 19.04.2018, 08:27 GMT-4

Posted: 6 years ago 17.04.2018, 03:41 GMT-4

It seems that, the light intensity (unit:W/m2) of the refracted light should be calculated by, I2=n2/n1·tp^2·I1 rather than I2=n2/n1·cos(θ2)/cos(θ1)·tp^2·I1.

The latter one, which is actually used in COMSOL to calculate the light intensity (parameter: gop.I), should be the ray power.

It can be seen in wikipedia about the Fresnel Equations, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fresnel_equations

It seems that, the light intensity (unit:W/m2) of the refracted light should be calculated by, I2=n2/n1·tp^2·I1 rather than I2=n2/n1·cos(θ2)/cos(θ1)·tp^2·I1. The latter one, which is actually used in COMSOL to calculate the light intensity (parameter: **gop.I**), should be the ray power. It can be seen in wikipedia about the Fresnel Equations, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fresnel_equations