Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Temperature on a cable

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,
I am trying to verify the temperature on three cables representing a transmission line due to the heating caused by the current passing through them, but the temperature shown in the Results is uniform on the cables, even though the current in one of them is significantly greater. The geometry consists only of three parallel aluminium cilinders.

I have specified the Ground node to one end of each cable and assigned an External Current Density to them, (I have also tried assigning Normal Current Density to the opposite end of the cable) and also assigned a convective heat flux on the cable domains with the aluminium heat tranfer coefficient.
I was following the electric heating on a busbar tutorial as I am new to COMSOL.

The idea is then compare the temperature of the same cables but with a layer of a non-conductive material around one of them.

Is it not possible to verify the Joule Heating using a current density? Do I need a box of air around the cables?

Thank you in advance for any help

5 Replies Last Post 06.03.2017, 09:09 GMT-5

Posted: 7 years ago 17.02.2017, 02:13 GMT-5
Hi

I am not quite sure what you mean by verification, but Joule heat is resistivity*(current density)^2. It comes as a heat source in the heat transfer problem (W/m^3). Surely higher current should give higher temperature.

BR
Lasse
Hi I am not quite sure what you mean by verification, but Joule heat is resistivity*(current density)^2. It comes as a heat source in the heat transfer problem (W/m^3). Surely higher current should give higher temperature. BR Lasse

Posted: 7 years ago 17.02.2017, 05:43 GMT-5
Hi, thank you for your reply.