Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Weak Form PDE

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi everyone,

I'm just beginning to use Comsol so I hope somebody will be able to help me.

I'm trying to use a weak form PDE to solve the equation : variation(P)=0 where P is the potential energy of a beam (Hamilton's principle for statics) :

P = Int_over_1D_domain( Expression_1 ) + Expression_2

With : Expression_2 = F_X*(X(x=L)-L) - F_Y*Y(x=L) -C*theta(x=L) (x=L is the free end of the beam)

F_X, F_Y and C are constants defined in the section parameters.

X(x), Y(x) and theta(x) are my dependent variables.

And x is the spatial coordinate defined by Comsol for my 1D domain (i.e. the curvilinear abscissa of beam
which is not extensible).

Thus I built a 1D model, then added a PDE in weak form for the physics and entered test( Expression_1 ) in the weak field. So far no problem encountered (except for defining units but I worked out this one). I also defined initial values, appropriate Dirichlet boundary conditions and weak constraints with Lagrange multipliers (so that the beam is not extensible).

My problem is that I don't know where/how to define the other terms of P (i.e. those of Expression_2). Does anyone know how to do that?

Thanks a lot,

Elia

4 Replies Last Post 06.01.2011, 05:48 GMT-5

Posted: 1 decade ago 06.01.2011, 03:51 GMT-5
No one?
No one?

Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 06.01.2011, 04:55 GMT-5
Hi

I suppose if you upload your model it would be easier for us to really follow what you are doing, I have some problems understanding your equations just from the text ;)

--
Good luck
Ivar