Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

An empty cavity was created

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am doing cfd analysis in a filter considering laminar flow .During mesh process with coarse the meshing was successfully but when changed to normal or coarse i am getting error as ''An empty cavity is generated''. In one of the comsol discussions threads i studied about this error but there is no change in this error.
My question is
1- how to over come this error ?
2- The solution computed with coarse mesh will give the same results when computed with normal or fine mesh ?
3-I am using free tetrahedral in mesh ,by using free triangular ,quad etc is the mesh same or there will be any differences in the mesh and computation results ?

The comsol model is attached below.

Thank you in advance
Regards

4 Replies Last Post 22.09.2016, 13:58 GMT-4
Bjorn Bretz COMSOL Employee

Posted: 8 years ago 19.09.2016, 02:50 GMT-4
As the sequence of geometry operations is set up, a few sliver faces are generated (see for example face 13 in the resulting geometry). These sliver faces make it difficult to generate meshes for some element size specifications. I have attached a model with a different geometry sequence which gives a geometry without sliver faces.
As the sequence of geometry operations is set up, a few sliver faces are generated (see for example face 13 in the resulting geometry). These sliver faces make it difficult to generate meshes for some element size specifications. I have attached a model with a different geometry sequence which gives a geometry without sliver faces.

Bjorn Bretz COMSOL Employee

Posted: 8 years ago 19.09.2016, 03:13 GMT-4
The model attached to the previous message was saved in version 5.2. Please find the attached model saved in version 5.1.