Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Save only probe measurement in parametric study

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi everyone,

I am quite new to Comsol, so maybe my question is easy to answer...

I am doing a study with 3 parametric sweeps at the same time, with only one point of interest measured by a probe. My problem is that Comsol saves the complete result (not only the point I am interested at, but every nodes of the volume), and then the memory of my computer is not big enough to conclude the study (even with 16GB RAM).
Then my question is : is it possible to ask comsol to store only solutions at the probe point, and not all the others ?

Thank you.

6 Replies Last Post 25.07.2016, 10:53 GMT-4

Posted: 8 years ago 21.07.2016, 15:43 GMT-4
You can use domain point probe to plot and write a particular variable in table. In dependent variables node of solver study, uncheck store output box for all the variables solved for. This will highly reduce your model out file size.
You can use domain point probe to plot and write a particular variable in table. In dependent variables node of solver study, uncheck store output box for all the variables solved for. This will highly reduce your model out file size.

Posted: 8 years ago 22.07.2016, 07:30 GMT-4
Thank you for your answer.
Unfortunately, if I uncheck the boxes, it seems that comsol does not compute anything anymore, and I obtain only zeros (or -inf if in log scale).
Is there something more to do than just unchecking the boxes ?
Thank you for your answer. Unfortunately, if I uncheck the boxes, it seems that comsol does not compute anything anymore, and I obtain only zeros (or -inf if in log scale). Is there something more to do than just unchecking the boxes ?

Posted: 8 years ago 22.07.2016, 10:58 GMT-4
Make sure you do not uncheck solve for box.