Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Mesh : resolving a part much thinner than the rest of the volumes

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I don't know much about the different options for meshes and their mechanism of creation. I am studying a geometry where the is a layer much thinner than the rest of the geometry. 1cm becomes 1 micrometer on this layer, where the temperature will vary very fast ( time dependent study of a few microsecondes).

I try different options without really knowing their impact. Sometimes the mesh can't be created because the smallest element size is too large and if I bring it down enough, I end up with meshes with far too many points and it slows the calculation.

Do you have any advice for me ?
For example, how could I get elements much larger in two directions than in the third one ?

Thank you very much
Simon

12 Replies Last Post 08.11.2015, 04:55 GMT-5

Posted: 9 years ago 05.11.2015, 01:56 GMT-5
Hi

The solution probably is swept mesh, but if you could send your geometry I could have a look at it.

BR
Lasse
Hi The solution probably is swept mesh, but if you could send your geometry I could have a look at it. BR Lasse

Posted: 9 years ago 05.11.2015, 03:01 GMT-5
How about this?
How about this?

Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 9 years ago 05.11.2015, 08:45 GMT-5
Hi

When you have very thin layers (ratio 1:100 or above) you could just as well use the "Thin layer" or "Thin film" (for fluids) HT Boundary condition.