Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

How to export the data of far-field pattern

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi! I am a newbie to COMSOL and I just managed to compute the scattering of electromagnetic wave by a PEC ellipsoid. I exported the data of far-field pattern to a csv file. As far as I know, the far-field pattern are the amplitude of the electric field defined on the unit sphere (as a function of the zenith and azimuth angle). However, the (x,y,z) coordinates in the data file are apparently not on the unit sphere.

How to export the far-field pattern as a function of the two angles?

4 Replies Last Post 20.11.2015, 01:06 GMT-5
Gunnar Andersson COMSOL Employee

Posted: 9 years ago 29.09.2015, 02:16 GMT-4
However, the (x,y,z) coordinates in the data file are apparently not on the unit sphere.

If you export plot data from a 3D far field plot, then you get the following columns in the data file:

x y z Color

The direction of the (x, y, z) vector corresponds to a point on the unit sphere. The magnitude of the vector is the value of the expression entered in the Expression section when evaluated on that point.

The Color is the value of the expression in the Color section for the same point on the unit sphere.
[QUOTE] However, the (x,y,z) coordinates in the data file are apparently not on the unit sphere.[/QUOTE] If you export plot data from a 3D far field plot, then you get the following columns in the data file: x y z Color The direction of the (x, y, z) vector corresponds to a point on the unit sphere. The magnitude of the vector is the value of the expression entered in the Expression section when evaluated on that point. The Color is the value of the expression in the Color section for the same point on the unit sphere.

Posted: 9 years ago 29.09.2015, 03:32 GMT-4