Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

COMSOL AC-DBD Modelling

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello everyone

I am trying to model a AC-DBD (Alternating Current -Dielectric Barrier Discharge) Plasma Actuator ,using COMSOL.

I am trying to implement the model of Suzen and Hwang(attached) ,whereby the developed model will calculate the body force after calculating the charge density and the electric field.

I am a novice to COMSOL hence i want to know how can i introduce a numerical model in COMSOL?

I have gone through the plasma module and it doesn't have an AC-DBD sub-module under the plasma module. Hence i wonder if i have to use AC-DC package to model the DBD as a capacitor? That seems easy but my question will then be, how do i integrate this with my plasma module in order to study the plasma physics and calculate the body force after i introduce my model (and that too ,How?) .

I will really appreciate the help.

God bless you and best regards
Zaid

1 Reply Last Post 09.02.2015, 19:15 GMT-5

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Posted: 9 years ago 09.02.2015, 19:15 GMT-5
Syed,

I currently am in the process of activating our laboratories Plasma module license or I would offer more explicit help. DBD is not a mode of plasma in itself but a type. It transitions through either streamer or diffuse modes (Townsend to corona, spark and then to glow). This has been experimentally reported several years ago with gated CCD's. Your idea is correct. The DBD plasma will be an AC plasma and at the dielectric boundary it would be simple to code the potential delayed charging effect into a boundary force by integrating at that boundary the changing electric field times the maximum charge density.