Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Frequency response of displacement at a point -- maximum amplitude varies with frequency resolution

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am studying an example in the Model Libraries, the 'shear bender' under 'Structral Mechanics Module\Piezoelectric Effects'.

The example has only Stationary study.
I added a Eigenfrequency study, and found one of the resonant frequencies to be 19057.945Hz.
I then added a Frequency Domain study to see the ampliftude of displacement around 19057Hz.
I chose a point on the tip of the shear band to generate a 1-D plot of the displacement at that point.
I started with a frequency resolution of 50Hz, the plots looks fine, I can see the displacement peaks around the resonant frequency.
The problem is when I increase the freqeucny resolution from 50Hz, to 10Hz, 5Hz, 1Hz, the maximum value keeps increasing. This may be fine, if the system has high Q. At better resolution, I expect to see the peak increase to some extent. However, when I change frequency resolution from 0.1Hz to 0.5Hz, the amplitude jumped from 0.35mm to 4.5mm, more than 10 times! (I have attached a pdf file with the plots.)

The shear bender is used as example here. I noticed this issue in one of my own projects, in which a metal plate is being studied. At finer resolution, the maximum displacement also jumps like discribed above. Eventually the value obtained becomes unrealistic given the thickness of the metal plate. We are trying to compare the displacements at several resonant frequencies, but now it seems those results are questionable.

Can anyone share some thoughts on this? Thanks.

4 Replies Last Post 13.01.2015, 08:32 GMT-5