Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Problems with Magnetic force

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi! I am new to COMSOL and I really need some help please.

I want to study an electromagnetic actuation system to guide magnetic microparticles in blood vessels. For that I used the AC/DC module to build some coils to generate a gradient magnetic field and then I used the Fluid Flow module to model the blood. The final goal is to use the Particle Tracing for Fluid Flow module to determine the trajectory and velocity of the particles when subjected to the magnetic force, however when I include the Magnetophoretic Force (already included in the module) nothing happens! There is no change in particle velocity.

As it can be read in COMSOL: “The Magnetophoretic Force causes motion of permeable particles toward regions where the magnetic field is stronger. The magnetophoretic force is applicable for particles which are charge neutral and have a different relative permeability than the background fluid.”

But even when I insert a high value of particle relative permeability (400000) nothing happens. I was expecting a change in particle velocity. I attach some pictures of my problem.

Maybe it's something pretty obvious, but I really need some help here. Thank you!

Best regards,
Patrícia

5 Replies Last Post 29.06.2016, 23:47 GMT-4
Edgar J. Kaiser Certified Consultant

Posted: 1 decade ago 02.04.2014, 10:59 GMT-4

Patricia,

the vessel is in the most homogeneous part of the field. You might try to place it at some location with a larger gradient.

Cheers
Edgar

--
Edgar J. Kaiser
emPhys Physical Technology
www.emphys.com