Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Urgent (RF)

Constantinos Tsangarides

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I am having a deadline in less than a month and I need really your help.

I am trying to build an RF model with a layer of graphene that is going to be shined by light from different angles.
I am very new to Comsol and I do not have enough time to check all its examples and forums which have to do with my querries.

So a graphene layer cannot be modelled as it is too thin for electromagnetic waves to react with it, so I had to use the transition boundary method by having two layers of air and working out their intersection surface where they touch, to be the graphene layer.

I have set different properties of the graphene, such as conductivity and relative permittivity (equations) in the "Parameters" section. Such properties must change when the incoming frequency of ligtht changes (omega). But am not sure if is the correct way for inserting them in the Parameters section because it was difficult to find another method.

Then I tried to find a way to shine light onto the surface but this is the difficult part of it.

I will upload you the file of project with what I have done until now, later on.

Just to get you informed on what am working on and what difficulties I had. Thank you. Coming back in a bit.

2 Replies Last Post 07.03.2016, 00:25 GMT-5
Constantinos Tsangarides

Posted: 1 decade ago 01.04.2013, 16:48 GMT-4
I am posting you some pictures because I cannot upload it for the moment until tomorrow.

So, in the parameters I have written some equations in order to find out the conductivity (sigma_g)
and relative permittivities (real imaginary/ ereal eim)