Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Simulation of terahertz radiation from nano-antenna

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am new to COMSOL and I wish to simulate the radiation ( Electric field) in terahertz domain from a nano-antenna structure which consists of two electrodes separated by a 25um gap. The electrodes have dimensions in um as well. These electrodes are deposited on a GaAs crystal. The generation of terahertz waves is done in steps as follows:
1] an incident laser light wave focused on the gap between the electrodes creates some electrons (charged carriers)
2] an electric potential square wave of +-20V is applied between the two electrodes
3] the charge carriers i.e. electrons generated due to the laser light then get accelerated towards the electrode and within a few pico-seconds die out ; this phenomenon produces radiation in the terahertz region

Guessing the physics required , I think I need something that will simulate:
1] charge density distribution over time on a semiconductor
2] lumped port (?) to simulate the electric potential
3] radiation equations from moving charge carriers

Someone please help regarding any matter on this topic

1 Reply Last Post 06.06.2013, 16:23 GMT-4
COMSOL Moderator

Hello Harshad Surdi

Your Discussion has gone 30 days without a reply. If you still need help with COMSOL and have an on-subscription license, please visit our Support Center for help.

If you do not hold an on-subscription license, you may find an answer in another Discussion or in the Knowledge Base.

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Posted: 1 decade ago 06.06.2013, 16:23 GMT-4