Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Apparent inconsistency in induction heating solution methods

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi everyone,
I'm new to COMSOL 4.3, and I'm trying to properly use the induction heating module. While modeling the problem of a current loop heating several iron inductors embedded in water in 3D, using either External Current Density or Surface Current, I kept getting temperatures that I strongly suspected were too low. I modeled a similar problem of one inductor in axisymmetric 2D, with the intention of comparing heating via Single-Turn Coil Domain with heating from either of the aforementioned methods. I get a result that seems right to me with Single-Turn Coil Domain, but when I deactivate it and activate either External Current Density or Surface Current, I get a temperature rise of less than a degree, a similar wrong result to what I get with 3D modeling.
With External Current Density, I use the current (1000 A) divided by the cross-sectional area of the loop wire, and I use the current divided by the circumference of the loop wire when I use Surface Current instead.
I've attached the 2D axisymmetric version of the test problem that delivers incorrect results. I've slightly modified the materials such that water has a relative permittivity and permeability both of 1, and an electrical conductivity of 0.1 S/m. Can anyone let me know what I'm missing? Thanks in advance!

10 Replies Last Post 02.07.2014, 17:05 GMT-4

Posted: 1 decade ago 18.02.2013, 08:38 GMT-5
Hi everyone,
Here's a simple 3D version of the problem that has the same issue. Can someone help me with this problem?