Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

NACA 0012 Airfoil with Spalart-Allmaras turbulence model

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I am new to COMSOL and I thought I would start with a relatively simple model: a NACA 0012 airfoil at 0 angle of attack.

The domain is small and the mesh resolution is relatively coarse to get faster solutions. (Once it works I will try a larger domain and finer mesh)

I chose the Spalart-Allmaras Turbulence model given its robustness and accuracy in these conditions.

Unfortunately, the simulation always exits prematurely with an error:
Segregated group 2
Expression evaluates to NaN.
- Expression: (((mod1.spf.cb1*mod1.spf.Stilde)*mod1.nutilde)-((mod1.spf.fw*mod1.spf.cw1)*((mod1.nutilde/mod1.spf.l_w)^2)))

I have played with different boundary conditions, mesh densities, solvers. Nothing seems to work.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated!

4 Replies Last Post 19.04.2013, 04:27 GMT-4
COMSOL Moderator

Hello Mark Dekker

Your Discussion has gone 30 days without a reply. If you still need help with COMSOL and have an on-subscription license, please visit our Support Center for help.

If you do not hold an on-subscription license, you may find an answer in another Discussion or in the Knowledge Base.

Posted: 1 decade ago 02.01.2013, 22:56 GMT-5
Hi Mark,