Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Reflection of flexural waves in a structure

Neal Connor Acoustics

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am trying to model the propation of flexural waves in a 2D rectangular beam with decreasing thickness and the effect that different profiles of thickness have on the reflection of these waves, for my university project. So far, I have been able to design the structure using the geometry tools and apply boundary conditions and the size and type of mesh, but as I am only a beginner at using COMSOL I am finiding it rather tricky to model the propagation of these waves and to calculate the reflection, I am currently using version 6.0 for my simulations. I have tried introducing a point of excitation to the model to try to include a source of the flexural waves but I am unsure whether this is correct.

Physics Selected: * Acoustics > Elastic Waves > Solid Mechanics (Elastic Waves)

Study: * Frequency Domain

Frequency: * 10Hz to 10kHz

I have uploaded the geometry of one of my plates with the boundary conditions and the mesh parameters already chosen. I would be grateful for any suggestions to what I should do to model the propagation and to find the reflection of these flexural waves.

Thank you.

3 Replies Last Post 14.02.2023, 11:21 GMT-5
Edgar J. Kaiser Certified Consultant

Posted: 1 year ago 13.02.2023, 15:42 GMT-5

Neal,

the setup looks good and you can add e.g. a boundary load or a prescribed displacement somewhere to excite the structure. The frequency domain study shows you the vibration pattern in the dynamic steady state, i.e. after a long time of excitation. If you want to see the propagation and reflection of a certain disturbance you would need to run a time dependent study.

Cheers Edgar

-------------------
Edgar J. Kaiser
emPhys Physical Technology