Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Meshing Error

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am new to COMSOL and am trying to model an electrostatically actuated cantilever where the beam is thicker near the tip than at the anchor. When I try to build the swept mesh, I get an error that says "Unsupported topology of domain: domain must be bounded by one connected face component only". What does this error mean? What is the best way to get around it?

I attached my model file where block 1 and 2 form the beam, block 3 is a grounded terminal, and block 4 is the surrounding air.

Thanks,
Scott

6 Replies Last Post 11.11.2015, 05:08 GMT-5
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 18.07.2012, 01:13 GMT-4
Hi

first of all you can always use the default mesh that will work.
For sweep mesh you have some limitations, you cannot sweep over topology changes, what you can do is

1) remove or disable the specific union 1 node in your geometry sequence, then
2) to mesh the internal bloc side i.e. boundaries 25 26 27 (once the union has been removed) with tri or quad and then sweep your domains 2, 3, 4 ,5

Then you need to "convert" all external meshed boundaries of your blocks 2,3,4,5 to tri with a "convert" and add a final Free thet mesh for domain 1

--
Good luck
Ivar