Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Electric field

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello everyone, I am new in comsol. For my thesis I need to observe the propagation of the electric field emitted by an UVC led. In particular, we don't want to reconstruct the photodiode but simply to say to comsol that a spherical wave of initial amplitude E0 note starts from a given surface. How can I do that?

2 Replies Last Post 03.02.2022, 10:50 GMT-5
Robert Koslover Certified Consultant

Posted: 2 years ago 31.01.2022, 15:42 GMT-5
Updated: 2 years ago 31.01.2022, 15:52 GMT-5

If you truly wish to simplify the problem to the extent that all the physics of interest to you can be modeled as a "spherical wave" (which, we note, for EM waves, does not really exist in nature) with some initial (presumably scalar?) amplitude , then it seems to me that you don't need to build a Comsol model at all. Set and plot E vs. r, for various values of t. Note that , , and is the radius of your spherical source. As you can see from the equation here, when and . E falls off linearly with 1/r, just as it should, while also oscillating appropriately in time and space. Did you, perhaps, want to include a more detailed view of the actual physics of your source than that? Note that if you don't care about polarization, you could simply set a boundary condition (let in the equation for E above) on a spherical surface in a Comsol model using the classical scalar wave equation. This is included in all Comsol packages. Go to File, New, Model Wizard, 3D, Mathematics, Classical PDEs, and then Wave Equation (waeq).

-------------------
Scientific Applications & Research Associates (SARA) Inc.
www.comsol.com/partners-consultants/certified-consultants/sara