Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

More points on each streamline

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I am studying Electrostatics on my geometry. When I create a streamline plot of the field with each streamline comprised of roughly 350 points (that I see when exporting the plot). is there a way to make each streamline to be made of more points? My mesh is already extra fine.

3 Replies Last Post 30.08.2021, 14:09 GMT-4
Robert Koslover Certified Consultant

Posted: 3 years ago 29.08.2021, 23:03 GMT-4
Updated: 3 years ago 29.08.2021, 23:03 GMT-4

I have a question. Since you've posted several questions concerning this same topic, I just have to ask: WHY do you want to do this? My perspective here is that I've been working in electromagnetics for decades and I've never been interested in finely dividing up a field line into tiny little pieces. Now, I know I still have a lot to learn. But I also know that field lines are merely convenient graphical representations of the vector fields. These vector fields (i.e., magnitude and direction, as functions of spatial position) are normally of far more interest to the analyst than are the field lines, since the latter are merely a tool for making convenient pictures to help improve one's understanding. Are you able/willing to share with the Comsol community any more about how your physics or engineering problem actually benefits from such an emphatic concentration of attention upon the fineness/discretization of this graphical representation? Thanks!

-------------------
Scientific Applications & Research Associates (SARA) Inc.
www.comsol.com/partners-consultants/certified-consultants/sara