Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Very simple microstrip line RLGC or S parameter extraction

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi all,

I'm a complete beginner here who is trying to get a basic microstrip model to work with my school's COMSOL suite. The outcome of the modelling should hopefully be either distributed RLGC parameters or s parameters so that I can use these in another simulation tool (Multisim)

Essentially, all I need to do is to create a substrate (where I can define the relative permeability), a conducting plate underneath, and a single microstrip resting on top of the substrate. However, given my current level of technical expertise, I don't really know where to go next. I have built a rough physical model in COMSOL, but am not sure how to set ports or select the correct simulation method. I have attached what I've got so far, would anyone be able to give me a few pointers? That would be tremendously appreciated.

Thanks!!
Lin

8 Replies Last Post 15.05.2012, 11:04 GMT-4

Posted: 1 decade ago 03.05.2012, 08:59 GMT-4
This model is close to what you are doing

www.comsol.com/showroom/documentation/model/2192/

Your model needs an airbox surrounding the structure.

This is done under ver35a. IT will open in 4.2a but it is not clean. By clean I mean that when you open it ver35a does not translate super great into ver42a. It will at least get you going.

You will be able to extract s-parameters but RLGC values are a different matter. comsol does not pull spice equivalent models.