Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Simulating magnetic fields induced by alternating current in figure 8 coil?

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I'm working on an own project to simulate various things with figure 8 coil which is rather new coil type to be used in medical pain treatment. I'm still rather new to COMSOL and been working with this for 2 weeks full day now but I just can't find a way to get past this phase.

Similarly, as with other coil types, we create AC (in this case f=3,15kHz and I=3kA) to run through the coil conductor (made out of copper, dimensions 8mm(hight) x 3mm(width)) and to induce magnetic field which in turn induces electric field in brain's cerebral cortex.

Look below for the picture of the coil that I modeled for the simulations.

If anyone would have any clue or hint for creating above-mentioned sinusoidal AC and also the magnetic field that is induced by it, I would be extremely grateful!

Currently I have been trying to get this going using electric current (ec) and magnetic field (mf) physics modules combined and also magnetic and electric fields (mef) module, but yeah... haven't found the solution...

Thanks for the help in advance and please, ask for any specifying questions if needed!

2 Replies Last Post 04.11.2016, 01:52 GMT-4
Robert Koslover Certified Consultant

Posted: 8 years ago 01.11.2016, 14:18 GMT-4