Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

measuring an acoustic wave flight time dependency on the temperature

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

Firstly I'm a newbie on comsol, so my problem has been maybe already solved in this forum, but I actually sought and I really didn't found how to make it

My problem is : I want to model an ultrasonic thermometer.

The concept is really simple, we use transducer transceiver to generate an acoustic wave in a open closed waveguide which is full of a defines gaz ( air ). And we have to measure the flight time which is dependent on the temperature.

So I just want to know, how can I generate an acoustic wave and measure the return of this wave in the same point.

I hope that my problem is clear and sorry about my english :)

1 Reply Last Post 28.10.2016, 12:04 GMT-4
Dave Greve Certified Consultant

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Posted: 8 years ago 28.10.2016, 12:04 GMT-4
The dependence of air velocity on temperature is well known and indeed the acoustic velocity is included in COMSOL in the material model for air.

So I assume you want to model the transducer and its interaction with air. You will need to develop a multiphysics model using the pressure acoustics module and (presumably) the piezoelectric devices part of the structural mechanics module. (If your transducer is a piezoelectric transducer, as it often is).

Since the temperature dependence of velocity is not that strong it is not likely you will see much of a change in the return delay time. So I would use the transducer/ air model mostly to see the strength of the return signal for a given transducer drive condition.

D.W. Greve