Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

plane strain model. Parameter thickness

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I'm a beginner in COMSOL and I don't understand about the parameter in a plane strain model, subdomain physics of THICKNESS.
If one of the hypotesis of plane strain is large thickness why there is this option?
I have high different results with different thickness, probably i don't understand this parameter.
Someone can hel me?

4 Replies Last Post 28.02.2017, 15:00 GMT-5
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago 17.12.2010, 10:50 GMT-5
Hi

are you in 2D ? if o you must understand that COMSOl is working in 3D and the third direction "z" out of the plane is by default set to 1[m] but you can redefine this value. Like this your 2D view including this thickness value gives you a true 3D representation and COMSOl can resolve it correctly.

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi are you in 2D ? if o you must understand that COMSOl is working in 3D and the third direction "z" out of the plane is by default set to 1[m] but you can redefine this value. Like this your 2D view including this thickness value gives you a true 3D representation and COMSOl can resolve it correctly. -- Good luck Ivar

Posted: 1 decade ago 17.12.2010, 11:04 GMT-5
Thank you, for the reponse.

Quim
Thank you, for the reponse. Quim

Posted: 7 years ago 28.02.2017, 00:01 GMT-5
hi i have some question about plane stress condition.
i'm in 2D rectangle model 10mm*80um and thickness is 2.5mm,
some answer in forum say that 'z' direction is 'out-of-plane' direction.
but in my model i think 'out-of-plane' direction is 'y' direction.