Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

MEMS Microcantilever with electrostatic actuation

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi

I'm new to Comsol and would like to model a mems electrostatic switch. For this I am referring to this example:
www.comsol.com/showroom/gallery/444/
I was trying to understand the 3d model provided and am unable to understand the moving mesh features implemented. What kind of logic should we follow while adding prescribed mesh displacements?

Also I'd like the boundary load to act on only a portion of the cantilever. For this should I model the cantilever as 2 attached blocks, with the force acting on one of the blocks only? And should I place restrictions on the surface between the 2 blocks?

Also, is it necessary for the cantilever to be aligned to the side of the larger block? What differences would arise if I chose to displace it in the y direction so as to align it in the center of the bigger block?

Also, is it possible to do a transient analysis of the cantilever collapsing and plot a graph of the displacement of the cantilever versus time under the application of a step voltage input? If so, how should it be done?

I'd really appreciate any help anyone can provide me on this. Any direction towards tutorials/models that may help would also be much appreciated.

5 Replies Last Post 06.05.2015, 20:43 GMT-4
COMSOL Moderator

Hello Shakti Tripathy

Your Discussion has gone 30 days without a reply. If you still need help with COMSOL and have an on-subscription license, please visit our Support Center for help.

If you do not hold an on-subscription license, you may find an answer in another Discussion or in the Knowledge Base.