Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

plasmonic waveguide / surface waves

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,
Im still very new to Comsol.
I have worked along the tutorial to build photonic crystals, that works fine. (www.comsol.com/showroom/gallery/143/)

and now i am trying to simulate a simple planar (2D) plasmonic waveguide. I.e. just a slim (0.1µm) metal strip in air.

now what i would like to see is the wave intensity on the metal/air boundary. however what i actually see is the following
img194.imageshack.us/img194/8573/plasmontest.jpg

now as i said, im new to comsol so it could be some basic misconception of my setup that is not working.

could you possibly give me a few pointers of what i need to remember when building a setup like this.

or even better could somebody upload a very simple example that i can use a reference to see what needs to be set up how.

cheers :)

4 Replies Last Post 23.11.2010, 05:08 GMT-5

Posted: 1 decade ago 12.11.2010, 05:08 GMT-5
well im starting to get somewhere but i am still uncertain about some aspects of the simulation.

so if we regard the boundaries of my structure here
img838.imageshack.us/img838/8382/boundaries.png

and i excite the boundary 3 with E0=(0 0 1)'
i get the following
img839.imageshack.us/img839/3803/field.png

this is clearly not what i would expect.

what i want to see is the field maxima to be ON the boundary between copper/air not within the metal.

now i am unclear if it is at all correct to excite boundary 3, as this is the metal, but exciting 1 3 and 5 results in a field that is only present in the cladding, which is also not what i want.

so i am in general slightly puzzled as to what i actually want to excite...

as always any help would be much appreciated, cheers :)