Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Inter-diffusion between two pure metal

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hallo,
I am pretty new in COMSOL and trying to simulate inter-diffusion between two pure metal (Cu and Sn). I made a simple model in comsol but not sure i considered the right initial condition. I attached also an image.

I put 2 diffusion coefficient for 2 pure metal and want to see how 1 metal diffuse into other one. Here i considered (Cu) is diffusing into (Sn), so (Sn) will be consumed over the time.

I will be so grateful if somebody can help me to simulate the problem with proper boundary condition.

Thanks a lot in advance.

Best Regards,
Tito

3 Replies Last Post 16.08.2017, 03:40 GMT-4

Posted: 8 years ago 09.03.2016, 12:27 GMT-5
Hi

Transport of diluted species is not the proper physics, as it applies to the case where the diffusing species is embedded (dissolved) in the surrounding medium. You have to use Stefan-Maxwell diffusion, i.e. Transport of concentrated species because there is no medium. Try diffusion coefficient of the order of 10^-10 cm^2/s

BR
Lasse
Hi Transport of diluted species is not the proper physics, as it applies to the case where the diffusing species is embedded (dissolved) in the surrounding medium. You have to use Stefan-Maxwell diffusion, i.e. Transport of concentrated species because there is no medium. Try diffusion coefficient of the order of 10^-10 cm^2/s BR Lasse

Posted: 8 years ago 09.03.2016, 13:14 GMT-5
Hallo Lasse,
Thank you for correcting me to choose the physics module. But i'm a bit confused to set up the model in concentrated species specially transport properties (density =?), initial condition and boundary condition. I have tried to set up the model and attached it here.