Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

defining function depending on 3D spacial coordinate vector and time

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I am quite new to Comsol, and I would like to create a function depending on the 3D position
in the coordinate system of my geometry and the time. It would create a space and time dependent electrical pulse (function returning Volt). So, I would like to couple the geometrical
spatial position coordinate (x,y,z) and time (t) dependent electrical pulse as boundary condition to one of my terminals. It would try to simulate injection of electric pulse to a certain small part of a conductor
as a function of time.

I have naively tried to define functions with x,y,z, and t as arguments and gave it as a User Defined value for my terminal but I get error saying the x is not defined. Obviously, somehow I have to tell Comsol what x (and y, z and t) is.

Thanks for any help,
Balint

5 Replies Last Post 26.02.2016, 09:43 GMT-5
Sven Friedel COMSOL Employee

Posted: 8 years ago 25.02.2016, 08:34 GMT-5
Dear Balint,

I would recommend havoing a look at the following tutorial model where space and time dependent source functions are explained:

ch.comsol.com/model/laser-heating-of-a-silicon-wafer-13835

Best regards,
Sven
Dear Balint, I would recommend havoing a look at the following tutorial model where space and time dependent source functions are explained: https://ch.comsol.com/model/laser-heating-of-a-silicon-wafer-13835 Best regards, Sven

Posted: 8 years ago 26.02.2016, 08:37 GMT-5
Dear Sven,

Thanks a lot. I ended up having a "Normal Current Density" defined under my Electric Currents physics and that recognized the x,y,z parametric Gaussian current profile.

However, I have a new problem now. This Normal Current Density object needs a boundary to define